Vikingapre blog!

Alla inlägg under juli 2012

Av L Viktoria M Sandberg - 21 juli 2012 22:33

Wow, what a week! Three days with English clients, on thursday I rode Halagador in the morning for mexican client then drove 600 km with England to see 3 of the selected 6 horses. Friday we saw two horses in the morning and then I took team UK to Barajas. They left with 3 selected candidates. Thank you so much to Sam, Jo and Nick for 3 great days!

I decided to drop in for a massage after 2 hours and 38 degrees of slow Madrid-friday-traffic. It turned out to be a good plan because in the evening although late I had energy to ride Donoso and Start, which was great as competition was coming up and I had not had time to ride during the week..

Saturday morning off to stables and fixi-fixi polish Donoso and his things and then arrived to Segovia in the afternoon. Just in time to get ready and do Donoso's second Prix St George. It was really really really hot and everything was double the work but this horse is such a star, 100% cooperative, always. You would never know he is a stallion, he doesn't say a word nor lifts an eyebrow. We got 60% and the changes are now better, he got most of them and forms are overall more fluid. Very proud of beautiful Donoso!

No pictures but here's a short clip before entering

   

Came home 20.30 looked at Start and realized no way did I have energy to ride him. Shit, I know he gets red hot chili pepper if I don't ride but I was to tired. And yep, not only did I have a hot horse but also a angy horse.. Start absolutely hate the flies, he kicked, bucked, fussed in warm-up and I felt that better cool him down that warm him up. We applied lots of fly repellent but it didn't help, Start was NOT happy as you can see..

 

Also he had his hat on for the first time ever, and he didn't like hat either.. Unfortunately it was absolutely necessary for the flies. So in I went with my angry hot horse and full of energy to do his second Int I. He did many beautiful forms and did not misbehave, he was abit nervous so I talked him through it step by step and he does want to be a good boy. But he did invent a new move for the day.. a giraff head shake upwards.. that he performed as a protest to the hat and the very hated flies.. So in between a very good canter pirouette and after a good extended canter and before a great flying change, head went straight up in the air.. Not sure how he manages to get that move in and still do forms like nothing happened. Start; I am trying to perform here and these flies are so in my way! So of course judges did not like this extra activity and we got 58% but ok, next time I will have special fly cream repellent for Starti and we will talk about the hat!

Start doing his second Intermedia I in Segovia

 


Now I will catch up with emails and then the rest of the day off, have a great new week everyone! 


Av L Viktoria M Sandberg - 15 juli 2012 23:32

Hasn't exactly been a restful weekend, I have not stopped as everything has to be prepared and I honestly do not know how I will get to that competition in Segovia, remains to be seen.. All three boys has been working out non stop except friday. It is hot so evening jobs and three horses working full is really too much, no matter how much I would like it not to be, it just is. On tuesday Mexico arrives and on wednesday England. I hope they will find what they are looking for, lots of preparation is done. So here we go non stop tuesday to sunday! It will be interesting to see how I find time to ride my horses these days.. I realized my extremely wild 10 week old doggy is just not going to be at all cooperative with clients and kilometres in car so that gave my mother a reason to come and escape rainy Sweden, lovely!

Wishing you all a very nice new summer week!

Donoso in Valencia

 


Av L Viktoria M Sandberg - 11 juli 2012 00:26

Here we are busy being hot! Yesterday all three boys worked out gloriously and today I signed up both Donoso and Start for a Segovia CDN** not this but next weekend, wiii here we go! As we are approaching August quickly there will be no more competitions as all spaniards go for holidays. I have already had mine in Sweden so I look forward to this competition adventure. Here we have sun and a little more sun and even though I love the heat I had to do something about the dryness. So I installed a humidifier (right word or?) and I can really recommend it, especially if you have allergy problems. This thing needs purified water (i.e not from the tap), fill it up and turn it on and voilá breathe without feeling that noseburn you get from sauna, no dry throat, no allergy, super!

Donoso, Halagador and Novedosa got new feet yesterday, Nova is a sweety and so easy to handle and she is up for whatever, the loveliest lady! Next week will be busy with clients, first England then followed by Mexico so most training has to be done this week.

Me and handsome Start yesterday before work out

 

 



Av L Viktoria M Sandberg - 8 juli 2012 13:50

Summer is wonderful time for everyone and especially for breeders as all new little lives is coming out and new ones are being made. I have always tried to make it as easy as possibly can for the mareowners. But now I have to ask you for some cooperation, breeding is a teamwork and a mutual responsability.

Donoso is breeding in Spain and Scandinavia, i.e Sweden, Finland, Norway, Denmark. We provided the Swedish National Stud Flyinge Donoso's frozen semen and their service has been impeccable thanks to professional staff, a special thanks to Susanne that could not have done a more efficient and correct job. It was a true pleasure working with you! Now Skåne Semin stores and manages Donoso's semen http://www.skanesemin.se/ 

Donoso's semen holds excellent quality and is guaranteed by Dra Concha Cuetara Gomez. Dña Cuetara is a teacher at the veterinarian faculty in Madrid and has managed Donoso's semen from collection to packing and sending. She manages most of Spains top stud stallions, Fuego etc, and send to breedingstations all over the world. Whilst collecting she told me very few stallions has as high sperm quality as Donoso and Concha has seen most of them. As Donoso is a TRC stallion the semen is also guaranteed by the Veterinarian faculty in Cordoba. 

So on my behalf as a stallionowner I have fullfilled my part of the responsability guranteeing the quality of the semen and making it physically available to Scandinavia. It is up to the mareowner to provide the mare in a good condition to be in foal and this part has also worked out fine. The vets has generally done a good job as most mares inseminated has been confirmed in foal by first insemination. But the managing of Donoso's semen has not been acceptable. I consider this a responsability of the mareowner rather than the veterinarian as the services are contracted by the mareowner. 

- One mare was inseminated and confirmed in foal. She was exposed to stressful circumstances and she reabsorbed the foal. If veterinarian is attentive they can see on the contour outline of fetal bladder is not regular and this indicates that the mare will most likely loose the pregnancy and go into heat again. This happened to this mare and when she was about to get her second insemination the semen was totally distroyed because the vet had not stored it properly. However the veterianian did not communicate this error and so new semen could not be ordered. The mareowner has paid for the veterinarian services and the transport of semen and she has not had a foal. And I have not been compensated for the loss of my dosis. Frozen semen is very practical as it can be used at any time but please make sure you contract a professional veterinarian that is certified to use frozen semen. 

- Most mareowners were sent several dosis. I have had very little communciation of what has happened to the rest of the dosis? Where is it stored? How many dosis was used and are left over? I only know it was not returned as Flyinge has kindly communicated all transport. So I would be very greatful for this information. 


Princesa born 2012, here 5 weeks e. Donoso VII

   



Av L Viktoria M Sandberg - 5 juli 2012 21:28

All three boys worked out in a velvet evening of 24 degrees, I love it! The heat makes me feel alive and gives me energy. And these boys are in tip top shape and it is so much fun working out with them, I plug in my music and riding is simply pure pleasure! I know I have said it before but I so love my horses and they really make my day so absolutely wonderful. 
After work out and tack cleaning I went down to to see my golden lady Novedosa that is growing into such a  b e a u t i f u l  mare, she's still only two years old I have to remind myself. She got some sweeties, eyelotion for the flies and nailpolish, the spanish floor is real dry now, may it rain soon.. 

Now relax, a glass of wine and some swedish Västerbotten cheese sallad. My new doggy-baby is a absolute huligan but so timid and sweet at the same time, just loves his stict mummy despite that she has to tell him of pretty much all the time. He also whines and cries when she is not around, sits beautifully and does the spanish walk, and anytime he can he curl up in her lap which is not so much because this mum is a always moving around, EXCEPT when she is at the computer.. 

Here a short trailer of my beautiful Halagador.

Av L Viktoria M Sandberg - 1 juli 2012 17:28

Back from one week of midsummer holiday in Sweden with family and friends. It has been around 40 degrees in Madrid so even swedish weather was refreshing even with its rain. I brought back this little pretty longlegged thing

 

He was named Viggo and is the sweetest, timid little isabelo Italian Greyhound that has no idea what to do with all his long legs. He is bred by my dear cousin Cecilia Spångfors who has done the best job to raise these three lovely personalities, see; http://italienarfors.wordpress.com/ 


Found my big boys and girl in great shape, they have been on a mini-diet because of the heat, walker in the morning, free-lounging in afternoon and a daily shower made happy-holiday-horses. Today temperature dropped to 12 degrees and in the morning and Halagador had to do his job with his black girlfriend again. She has been confirmed pregnant twice but has reabsorbed both so cross fingers that she keeps her baby this time. 


This pretty little golden boy is now sold to Italy, congratulations to Anna! 

 

And tonight Italy is playing Spain, I think I'll go check out the vibes, if there is something other than horses Spain is good at it is football, it has to be said!


Presentation


Welcome to
VIKINGA PRE's
blog!

Blogpost 1 year ago

Translate this blog

Categories

Ask me something!

32 besvarade frågor

See offspring to our stallions!

Latest blogposts

Archive

Search in blog

Links

I like this blog!

RSS

FacebookVIKINGA PRE

GUEST BLOG


Skapa flashcards